Strainphlan question on get the strain info

Hi~, i am really new to use Strainphlan and Metaphlan. I have several general questions to help me really understand the whole pipelline.

1. i have run MetaPhlan successfully with the codes as: metaphlan path/to/reads/s1.forward.fastq.gz,path/to/reads/s1.reverse_reads.fastq.gz -o s1.tsv --input_type fastq --bowtie2out s1.bowtie2.bz2 -s s1.sam.bz2

but when i read others’ posts, i noticed that some are using different databases from chocophlan database with --bowtie2db; here I did not specify the database, will MetaPhlan uses default db?
2) After i get the species info from metaphlan, i want to use Strainphlan and get strain info. I followed the StrainPhlAn3 · biobakery/biobakery Wiki · GitHub
in step 3: ```
extract_markers.py -c s__Eubacterium_rectale -o clade_markers

I am wondering whether the  -c s__Eubacterium_rectale means that we can only get the strain info for this only one s__Eubacterium_rectale species?? If so, how can I get all the possible strains info from all species in my file of metaphlan output?

3) in the same step 3, ```
strainphlan -s consensus_markers/*.pkl -m clade_markers/s__Eubacterium_rectale.fna -r reference_genomes/*.fna -o output -n 8 -c s__Eubacterium_rectale --phylophlan_mode fast --nproc 4

it also specifies the -c s__Eubacterium_rectale and it needs the -r reference_genomes/*.fna; do i need to curate the my own reference-genomes? or can i use the cholophlan database ?

Thank you so much

1 Like

I have the same question, I have a new specie (Unculture),
this species is not in the mpa database。How can I extract the markers of my strain?

Hi @molly
Thanks for getting in contact.
When MetaPhlAn runs without specifying the database, it runs, by default, with the last version, i.e. mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901 (this v30 database is described in our last preprint: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.11.19.388223v1).