Discrepancy between metaphlan3 community profile and humann3 gene families

I am analyzing a fecal metagenomics dataset from cats with diabetes. I have observed a strange discrepancy between the metaphan3 and humann3 results with respect to the presence/absence of specific taxa. For instance metaphlan identified one species in only 2/24 samples, but when I perform differential abundance testing on the gene families abundance and pathways data (using maaslin2), dozens of genes annotated to the same species are differentially abundant and present in the majority of samples (16-21 of 24).

How is it possible that metaphlan3 identified this species in only 2 samples, but it is present in the majority of gene families features in the humann3 output?

I see a similar problem was discussed here:Discrepancy between metaphlan3 and Humann3 in profiling micriobiota. However I am not sure the issue was resolved.

P.S. I am a novice data scientist, this is my first metaphlan3/humann3 dataset and my first time posting on the biobakery forum. Please excuse the inelegant way I may have posed the question

2 Likes

I agree that this does not sound possible. Have you examined the merged HUMAnN tables to see if this species’ genes were ever non-zero in samples where the species was not detected by MetaPhlAn? I’m trying to determine if this is a problem with your HUMAnN output or the downstream MaAsLin analysis.

Were you running HUMAnN with default settings? If not, can you provide the command that you executed?

@franzosa

Thanks for your comment.

I have investigated the merged humann tables and confirmed that gene family features annotated to the species of interest are non-zero in samples for which it was not present in metaphlan. In fact, hundred of features from this species are present in samples for which the species was not detected in metaphlan.