Confusion with HUMAnN 'regroup_table' and higher-level pathway information

Hello! Thank you so much for your work and continued development of HUMAnN – it’s incredible! I have made it most of the way through the documentation/tutorial but have been running into some hiccups with subsequent steps/analysis. I think I may be misunderstanding some things (even in regards to which data to use, as I’m kind of new to metabolic pathway work), and am just hoping for some advice/clarification.

Briefly, I have ~270 human stool metagenomes from people of different health statuses (e.g. cases and controls) and am interested in comparing their metabolic potential. I know that HUMAnN outputs three different file types: gene families, pathway abundances, and pathway coverages. I think, for the purposes of doing a sort of broad, birds-eye level view of differences among our groups, we are most interested in the pathways files. BUT, I wasn’t sure if it’s a terrible error to disregard the gene families results, haha. So, the rest of this post dives into some nitty-gritty questions about that. I’m sorry, in advance, for the length:

I successfully ran through HUMAnN on our merged PE reads using UniRef90. Thus far, I was able to run ‘humann_renorm_table’ on each of my ‘genefamilies.tsv’ and ‘pathabundance.tsv’ to obtain CPM-normalized abundances for each sample. I then used ‘humann_join_tables’ to get three merged files (genefamilies, pathabundance, and pathcoverage) for all of my samples.

I then ran the ‘humann_regroup_table’ for the comprehensive ‘genefamilies’ file to get MetaCyc and/or Pfam groupings relevant to the UniRef output. Just to make sure I constructed this correctly, here is my code (for obtaining MetaCyc reactions):

humann_regroup_table --input $SCRATCH/humann/ERIN_humann_genefamilies_cpm_merged.tsv --groups uniref90_rxn --function sum --ungrouped Y --protected Y --output $SCRATCH/humann/ERIN_genefamilies_regrouped_MetaCyc.tsv;

The log for MetaCyc indicated this: