Protein database choose and low aligned rate in humann

Hi,

I am totally new to metagenome analysis with limited Linux and Python experience. I am using humann3 to analyze my metagenome and metatranscriptome sequencing data. I have several question need helps:
1, I installed all four diamond databases under uniref folder (uniref50, uniref90, uniref50-ec-filtered, uniref90-ec-filtered). I found the HUMAnN pipeline will default align all these 4 databases when I try to run HUMAnN. I tried to assign the protein database using the command --protein-database uniref/uniref90_201901b_full.dmnd, but it shows an error of ‘CRITICAL ERROR: the directory provided for the protein database does not exist’. I also tried using the absolute path “/home/humann_dbs/uniref/uniref90_201901b_full.dmnd” or database without path “uniref90_201901b_full.dmnd”, but it indicated the same error. I am confused about the correct way to assign protein database to align.
2, if the diamond run both uniref50 and uniref90 databases, how it affects my data readouts? I read the document about the uniref50 and uniref90, and know it likes a tradeoff of aligned rate and resolution, but I am still curious about what happens if both databases run.
3, when I finish the first run of HUMAnN, I found the aligned rate after the nucleic acids database search is really low (~93% unaligned reads), while the rate is ~55% after the protein database search (all 4 databases), does anything go wrong to have so low aligned rate in nucleic acids database search step? How can I increase the rate in this step?

–Chao