Syntax errors - program code

Hi, I am very new to Python and trying to work my way around some tutorials. I cannot get your code to work no matter what I do, using both your files and my files. Python does not like the $ or the X or the b in before. Please help.

SyntaxError: invalid syntax

$ halla -x beforeotu.txt -y otugenera.txt -m spearman -o HAIIA
$ halla -x X_16_100.txt -y Y_16_100.txt -m spearman -o HAIIA
$ halla -x beforeotu.txt -y otugenera.txt -m spearman -o HAIIA
halla -x beforeotu.txt -y otugenera.txt -m spearman -o HAIIA
halla -x X_16_100.txt -y Y_16_100.txt -m spearman -o synthetic_output

Hi danicalea. It looks like you’re trying to run a shell command as a Python command. Try running your command in a terminal.

Thanks Andrew. I am using a Windows computer so could not do that. Have tried changing the path but that does not work either - halla is unrecognised. I have someone helping at my university and he has tried on a Mac and Google colab and is also not having any success in getting the tutorial code to work.

I have since found halla was missing about four modules and now its saying that there is an error - cannot load library

You can run HAllA from the command line in Windows using a console emulator like Cmder or Git Bash.

If you want to invoke HAllA from Python, the source definition might given some insight into the arguments that are needed. You’d want to import the halla module, then run the load() and run() methods. Sorry that I don’t have anything more helpful on this, the documentation has focused mainly on the command line version so far.

Given that error message, I think your installation of the rpy2 dependency isn’t set up properly. The most common issue I’ve seen is that rpy2 can’t find the installation of R. I suggest you look through their documentation to see if anything there is helpful.

I am having trouble installing jenkspy, and not sure why. No idea about the rpy2.