Relative abundance >1.0 and stratification

Hi,
I am a newbie to Humann2 and got some doubts on it:

1. Why SUM of relative abundance of my samples are not 1.0, actually they are >1.00.
    (i joint the files of all samples pathabundance and then calculated the relative abundance using this script:
    humann2_join_tables --input very-sensitive/ --file_name pathabundance --output humann2_pathabundance_SEN.tsv)

2. how stratification works? what is the meaning of this?
    (after calculating relative abundance, i did stratification using following script:
    humann2_split_stratified_table --input humann2_pathabundance_relab_cat.tsv --output stratified/)

I did understand that unstratified gives only pathways and stratified give pathways+bacteria but my startified numbers are <1.0 and unstratifed ~1.0 and SUM of both is close to my original relative abundance of samples which i mentioned in 1st question.

1. Am i doing something wrong? if it is correct, then if i want to report pathways + microbes, which file should i use stratified or original relative abundance file, which i got in my first step as it mentioned in 1st question?
    Kindly help me to solve these questions,
    Thanks,
    Khem

The default normalization procedure is to normalize to the sum of functions’ community totals. For functions that are computed strictly by adding up gene abundances (e.g. outputs from regroup_table), the sum of the stratifications will be the same as the sum of the community totals (such that a normalized sample/column for these data will sum to to 2.0).