Phylum only abundance table

Hi,
I am new to this. I used the following command to get the specie only abundance table as mentioned in the tutorial.

grep -E "s__|clade" merged_abundance_table.txt | sed 's/^.*s__//g' | cut -f1,3-8 | sed -e 's/clade_name/body_site/g' > merged_abundance_table_species.txt

But I am also interested in getting the phylum only abundance table. Can someone with expertise in shell help me to modify the above script in order to get phylum only abundance table?

many thanks in advance.

The way I do this is to first grep the desired level, and then grep -v the next lowest level. The -v does an “inverted” match. So for example, if you want just phylum, you’d do

$ grep "p__|clade" merged_abundance_table.txt | grep -v "c__" | # other stuff...

The grep -E "p__|clade" matches every line that contains the phylum (and the header, which is what |clade is for), and then grep -v "c__" matches every line that doesn’t have the class.

I am so sorry… can you please also write the remaining part of the code? like what #other stuff… i should write? I am new to shell. I tried the first part but it doesn’t work for me. I get an empty file…

I was thinking all the stuff you had before (from sed on), though if you’re getting an empty file, there’s some other problem, I think.

With these sorts of built-up shell commands, it’s typically a good idea to do them in pieces. The | is passing the output from the previous command into the following command. So for example, if you start with cat merged_abundance_table.txt, you’ll see the whole file printed to the screen (if the output is really long, you can do something like | head -20 at the end of each of these commands, which will only take the first 20 lines). Then add | grep "p__|clade"*, and the output should change (in this case, you will only see lines that have p__ or clade). Then add on | grep -v "c__", and you should see any line with c__ go away. Just keep tacking stuff on…