METAPHLAN3: Bowtie2DB output files need the size of the metagenome using the --nreads parameter

I was running MetaPhlAn3 on one of the bowtie2out files, and it reported back with this confusing error message:

Please provide the size of the metagenome using the --nreads parameter when running MetaPhlAn using SAM files as input
Exiting...

To be clear, I ran MetaPhlAn 3.0.8 with the mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901 index and --input_type bowtie2out.

1 Like

I am new to metaphlan and had a similar error running metaphlan3 on trimmomatic trimmed fastq reads. I would also love to know if anybody has any suggestions, as I cannot figure out what to do.

$ conda install -c bioconda python=3.7 metaphlan
$ metaphlan F_trimmed_paired.fq.gz,F_trimmed_unpaired.fq.gz,R_trimmed_paired.fq.gz,R_trimmed_unpaired.fq.gz --bowtie2out metagenome.bowtie2.bz2 --nproc 5 --input_type fastq -o …/…/metaphlan_out/profiled_metagenome.txt

------ And I receive: --------

Downloading http://cmprod1.cibio.unitn.it/biobakery3/metaphlan_databases/mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901.md5

Downloading file of size: 0.00 MB

0.01 MB 12800.00 % 37.32 MB/sec 0 min -0 sec

Decompressing /home/liam/miniconda3/envs/mtp/lib/python3.7/site-packages/metaphlan/metaphlan_databases/mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901.fna.bz2 into /home/liam/miniconda3/envs/mtp/lib/python3.7/site-packages/metaphlan/metaphlan_databases/mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901.fna

Building Bowtie2 indexes

Removing uncompress database /home/liam/miniconda3/envs/mtp/lib/python3.7/site-packages/metaphlan/metaphlan_databases/mpa_v30_CHOCOPhlAn_201901.fna

Download complete

Please provide the size of the metagenome using the --nreads parameter when running MetaPhlAn using SAM files as input

Exiting…

WARNING: The metagenome profile contains clades that represent multiple species merged into a single representant.

An additional column listing the merged species is added to the MetaPhlAn output.

1 Like