Humann3 Paired end reads

Hi,

I’m just wondering how HUMAnN3 handles paired-end reads? I’m pretty new to metagenomics data analysis and was wondering if you can help.

Thanks,
a

1 Like

I’ve written a bit about this here:

In short, we recommend concatenating your paired reads upstream of MetaPhlAn and HUMAnN.

Hi… Is it necessary to run kneaddata before running MetaPhlAn 3.0 even if I use
--ignore_eukarya option with metaphlan command?

--ignore_eukarya will only ignore reads recruited to eukaryotic microbial marker genes; it will not ignore/exclude generic human contaminant DNA. That said, MetaPhlAn itself is fairly robust to un-removed human contamination, but downstream steps (e.g. HUMAnN’s translated search) might not be.

1 Like

In other words,whether to merge two files directly?for example:

cat sample_R1.fq sample_R2.fq > merge_sample.fq

Thanks!

Correct, this is what we mean when we say to concatenate paired reads.

Hi Eric,

I just wanted to follow up on the questions about how humann3 handles paired-end reads above. I wonder if we pass the concatenated reads to humann3 (e.g., concatenated reads = cat forward.fastq reverse.fastq), how does humann3 treat it? Will it treat the forward and reverse reads as two separate reads or it will consider them as a pair (e.g., a pair of reads hitting the same gene will be counted as 1 hit instead of 2 hits?

Thank you so much!

It will treat the forward and reverse reads as if they were independent unpaired reads. This is obviously an approximation, but from my simulations it doesn’t introduce any obvious biases in the downstream gene abundances.

Hi all, could I merge the forward and reverse file by Pear (Paired-End reAd mergeR), and then input the merged file to run the humann3?

For example,
pear -f test_1.fq -r test_2.fq -o test

Many thanks