Handling 3-way interactions

Hi there,

I am new to MaAsLin and have been really enjoying this tool so far! A big thank you for the existence of this forum which has answered a lot of my questions.

Currently, I am in the process of trying to include interaction terms and understand that these have to be created manually - which is fine. The example given is very helpful but I am not sure how MaAsLin handles more complicated interactions. In my case, I want to include a 3-way interaction with the following variables:

• Mental Health (MH) status - “MH” vs “No MH”
  • Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) status - “IBS” vs “No IBS”
  • A continuous diet quality score

My question is whether it is enough to create a single 3-way interaction column e.g.

input_metadata$Diet_IBS_MH = (input_metadata$IBS_Status == “IBS”) *
(input_metadata$MH_Status == “MH”) *
input_metadata$Diet_score

or whether I need to also manually create the other 2-way interactions that would be part of the 3-way interaction e.g.

input_metadata$Diet_MH = (input_metadata$MH_Status == “MH”) *

input_metadata$Diet_IBS = (input_metadata$IBS_Status == “IBS”) *

input_metadata$IBS_MH = (input_metadata$IBS_Status == “IBS”) *
(input_metadata$MH_Status == “MH”)

Any help would be really appreciated :slight_smile:

Djamila

I recommend using model.matrix() to set up interaction variables e.g. model.matrix(~disp*am*vs, data = mtcars) .

By the way you will likely need an exorbitant quantity of data to get good inference on a three-way interaction term. Detecting interaction effects is much harder than main effects: You need 16 times the sample size to estimate an interaction than to estimate a main effect | Statistical Modeling, Causal Inference, and Social Science

Hi Andrew,

Thank you very much for your swift response, I really appreciate it!

As for the first point, using the model.matrix() approach worked well - thanks for the recommendation.