Formula to test multiple variables

Hi, I’m new to MaAsLin2 and am looking for some advice on setting up the formula for assessing multiple variables and also ensuring I’m reading my results correctly.

I’ve working with normalized (relative abundance) microbiome data and a series of environmental variables related to water chemistry. I’m looking to see if any taxa are significantly correlated with any of net change (end-start of experiment concentration) of the chemistry variables. There are two treatments (Control and Sponge) and 4 independent samples of each treatment taken from the same time point (so not longitudinal).

I’ve started by assessing each variable in an independent MaAsLIn test because though they’re taken from the same water sample I don’t know that they can be considered dependent, but if you have other thoughts I would love to hear those. So the chemistry variable net change is a fixed effect (some are continuous and others only have 2 discrete values so MaAsLin considers them categorical despite the fact that they are numerical) and I’ve also made treatment a fixed effect with ‘Control’ as the reference value. Does this seem reasonable?

Anthranilate_fit_data = Maaslin2(input_data = input_data, 
                    input_metadata = df_input_metadata, 
                    min_prevalence = 0,
                    normalization  = "NONE",
                    transform = "None", 
                    analysis_method = "LM",
                    output         = "anthranilate_netchange_Output", 
                    fixed_effects  = c("anthranilatenetchange", "Treatment"),
                    reference = c("Treatment, Control"),
                    standardize = FALSE,
                    correction = "BH",
                    max_significance = 0.25, #0.25 is via developer default
                    heatmap = TRUE)

I’m then obtaining output (abbreviated version) that looks like this:

feature	metadata	value	coef	stderr	N	N.not.0	pval	qval